Spotlight on: Lauren Maurizio

Most people dream of having a skill which can not only be practical and fun, but one that also brings in some dollar dollar bills.

Enter Lauren and her buisness Daisy Daisy Handmades.

 

Filling the niche for locally designed and made baby/nursery related items, her products are stylish, on trend and affordable.

Offering pre-made and customised options to her customers this clever lady has turned a hobby into a booming online business, but still had some time to answer my nosy questions!

A green tea ( she averages about 7 cups a day!) with Lauren Maurizio.

Current Profession:
Stay at home mumma to Cooper (4) and Daisy (2) and small business owner.
The stay at home mum part I stumbled into accidentally (whoops!) but somehow everything just fell into place and worked.

The small business thing ( Daisy Daisy Handmades) came from a love of sewing, an inability to sit still for too long, and a lot spare time on my hands.
I named it Daisy Daisy Handmades after my daughter, who I’m hanging out to teach how to sew one day!

Prior to all that, I was halfway through my cert four in Community Services which I still have no idea whether it’s something I want to finish.
Time will tell!

 

 

 

How would you describe your skin?
So far I’ve been pretty lucky with my skin. I never had a big problem with acne or blemishes except briefly when pregnant.

My skin is best described as normal to oily on most days.
The only thing that really bugs me is a small patch of skin discolouration that magically appeared when I was pregnant but never went away.
( The dreaded pregnancy hyperpigmentation! ZFB wrote an article on this exact thing here.)
The patch of skin is a tan colour, so sometimes it looks like I haven’t blended my foundation properly!

 

 

What is your current everyday skin routine?
Morning:
I tend to just splash water on my face and put on some Nivea Refreshing Toner niveatonerThen I’ll start my makeup.
Between packing lunchboxes, getting kids dressed and the breakfast routine, that’s all I really have time for.

Night:
I have my “Normal Routine” and my “I’m so tired I can’t be bothered” routine.

Most nights I will rinse my face with water then cleanse with The Body Shop Tea tree Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanserbodyshopcleanser.jpgfollowed by the Nivea toner and finishing it off with either Nivea Moisturising Fluid Niveamoisture.jpgor if my skin has been feeling oily that day, La Roche-Posay Thermal Spring Water Spray
laroche.jpg
My “I’m so tired I can’t be bothered” routine is to just wipe my makeup off and cleanse at the same time with Micellar Cleansing Wipes micellarwipes.jpg
When I’m in the shower (either morning or night) I wash my face with Garnier Men Turbo Light Oil Control Charcoal Black Foam (story of how this product entered the routine further on in the post!)
garnier-men-turbolight-oil-control-charcoal-black-foam-4ef24da2fe32418ab75a3aa8706a7b9e.jpgAnd exfoliate with Lacura Walnut Exfoliating Face Scrub lacura.jpg




What is your favourite beauty product at the moment?
I always love anything that smells amazing, so it would have to be my Palmolive Milk and Honey Body Wash palmoliveshower.jpg It came in a large pump pack and when it started to get low I tipped my bottle of The Body Shop Coconut Shower Cream into it to save room on the shelf-bodyshopshower.jpg And now it smells incredible!




How often do you wash your hair? What do you use?
I have really frustrating hair.
It gets oily easily so I definitely have to wash it every second day.
I think I’ve tried dozens of shampoo’s aimed at oily hair but none have made a significant difference, so I just use anything.
At the moment I’m using the Protane Argan Oil Shampoo and Conditioner from Aldiprotane.jpg

and on the non wash days Batiste Dry Shampoobatiste.jpg

 

 

 

What is your usual makeup/hair look? How do you achieve it?
My hair is in the cliche mum messy up-do most days!
My hair gets so fluffy on the ends, so it’s not very often I can leave it down.

Make up wise, I always prime first with Rimmel Lasting Finish Primer rimmel primer.jpgI then follow with Maybelline Super Stay 24h concealer maybellineconcealer.jpgThen Nude by Nature Liquid Mineral Foundation
nudefoundy.jpgIf I’m going anywhere important I’ll contour using Face of Australia Pressed Bronzing Powder
faceofaus.jpgand highlight with Revlon Photoready Skinlights
revlon-photoready-skinlights-face-illuminator.jpgI’ll also change up my foundation for those events and use NP Set Memory Foundation

NP set.jpgI love having my lashes tinted and curled by BH Beauty Skin & Body but when I haven’t had a chance to get them done I will use a basic eyelash curler
eyelashcurl.jpgand then a coat of Maybelline Lash Sensational.maybellinelash.jpg

I very rarely bother with eyeliner as I’m super crap at it and it really doesn’t suit me.

If I use eyeshadow it’s the Nude by BYS eyeshadow palette nudepallete.jpgI tend to favour the earthy metallic tones and neutral colours the most

During the day I love the Candy K Lip Kit by Kylie Cosmetics for my lipsCandy-K_LipKit.jpgFor nights or a special occasion I love the shades Leo or Ginger.




Looking back, what hairstyle, makeup or fashion look did you used to wear, that makes you cringe now?
Most of it!

The slicked back hair into an ugly little messy bun, with the two gel flattened strips of hair let down on either side of the face, still gives me nightmares.

Hair-Romance-90s-normcore-hair-double-bun-hairstyle-tutorial1.jpg
Image sourced from the internet.

That hair and anything I wore to the Leongatha discos eg: Tartan skirts, rainbow toe socks, a top from Supre and Gallaz runners.

It’s enough to make me spew in my mouth a little!




What is your number one tip relating to makeup; hair or fashion that you wish everyone knew?
I don’t really have any tips that people don’t know already however, I do have a secret product!

While shopping with the two kids one day, I thought I was grabbing something else and accidentally bought the Garnier Men Turbo Light Oil Control Charcoal Black Foam.
I didn’t realise until I was in the shower and already using it that it was for men!

I use it every time I have a shower now and absolutely love it.
I’m onto my second tube and it found it cleared up so many of my annoying little blackheads!




What is on your beauty related wish list right now? What is something you’ve always wanted to try?
I would love to get a really good makeup brush set or to venture down to Chadstone and check out the Sephora & Mecca Maxima stores.

 

 

 

 

What is the best part of your job?
All of it!
I get to be at home with my kids everyday (so I haven’t missed any of their milestones), all while getting to do the hobby I love the most.
I’ve had the pleasure of meeting so many new and lovely people, and used Daisy Daisy Handmades to help out many different causes.
I’m super lucky to have such a supportive husband who has helped and allowed me to achieve it all.

 

You can find Lauren & Daisy Daisy Handmades online-

facey.jpgFacebook  www.facebook.com/daisydaisyhandmades

instaInstagram @daisydaisyhandmades

Website www.daisydaisyhandmades.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

