Miniature musings.

As you may or may not know, I’m a sucker for sample sized things.

I love the portability of sachets, mini tubes or tubs, and I love that you can usually make the sample size products (depending on the packaging) last longer than probably intended.

I often wonder how companies determine what size to make their samples.
Do they measure out an exact amount for one application?
Or do they pick a size of a container they think is cute and just fill it up?
Maybe we will never know.

Wow, you’re still here after reading through that.
Good for you, I promise the persistence will pay off, coz I’ve got a sneaky hot tip to share!

As I mentioned before, sometimes sample or “travel” sized versions of prodz can last you for ages and sometimes, it works out to be better value to purchase things in mini.

For example, while shopping in London a few years ago, my friend and I were at a Benefit counter.
After expressing interest in a few items, my friend settled on buying a shade of blush in full size.
I had already made my purchases, and I noticed as she was going up to the counter, that the blush shade she was about to grab also came in a smaller size as part of a fun little gift set that included a lip gloss and a mini highlighter.

So I stopped her, pointed it out, and she grabbed the gift set for cheaper than the blush on it’s own.

For my friend this was an ideal outcome.
She didn’t wear full makeup every day, and a full sized blush would have undoubtedly been used once every couple of weeks, and then inevitably moved to a home at the bottom of her make-up bag never to been seen again.
But, by buying the gift set, she saved a few bucks, and also got some smaller versions of other products.

Another example, I received a miniature sized Nars Blush in Orgasm as part of a Mecca Beauty Loop box, 3 or 4 years ago.
Fabulous shade, the most popular one Nars makes in fact.

IT’S. STILL. GOING.

So my tip is this:
If you can find travel sized or mini versions of something you like, or have wanted to try, buy them!
It’s a great way to test and see if you like a product before committing to buying the full size, and in some cases you get to try out different products by the brand if it makes up part of a pack.
It also caters to those of us who have product A.D.H.D and like to swap and play with different brands all ze toime. ( Ahem, moi…)

Here is a list of some of my faves:

 
Aesop Travel Case- Boston
AESOP_BOSTON_large.jpg
I wanted to try an Aesop toner, but didn’t want to buy a full sized one ( even their smallest, singular one was too much money to justify if I ended up not digging it).
Obviously designed for those travelling away from home, this pack comes with shampoo & conditioner, facial cleanser, toner (ding!), a facial moisturiser, body moisturiser, body wash and a mouth wash (did you know Aesop do mouthwash? I didn’t!).
The Boston set suited me best, but they do offer a couple of different ones that cater to specific skin types.

 

 

Benefit Hoola Porefessionally Bronzed

hoola.jpgIt’s a full sized bronzer PLUS a mini primer ( The POREfessoinal) and mini cream highlighter. I’m a big fan of Benefit products, and an even bigger fan of their bundles.

 

 

Benefit Go TropiCORAL

go-tropicoral-heroThis was the set I was talking about earlier!
My friend got the Dandelion shade, I grabbed this one.
Mini liquid blush, mini highlighter, mini powder blush and a lip gloss, what’s not to love?

 

 

Dermalogica Skin Kit Normal/Oily
normal-oily-skin-kit_101-01_590x617.jpg
I’ve found kit’s like this last for ages.
I believe you get your value’s worth out of testing a “one brand only” regime this way.
Plus the smaller sizes mean you don’t clog up your bathroom as much.
I think the first thing I used up when I had this kit was the toner, and that’s because I was spraying it rather liberally.
The cleansing gel, scrub and moisturiser lasted for so long I never bought a full size.

 
The Carry On Cocktail Kit from Offen
carry-on-cocktail-kit2_grande.jpg
I’ve never had the pleasure of using this one, but it ticks off all of my requirements for being mini and marvelous!
The Carry On Cocktail Kit provides everything you need to craft two delicious Old Fashioned cocktails mid-flight, all you need to add is the hard stuff.
(Probably works best for flights that aren’t “Dry”, I’m looking at you Royal Brunei…)
Fun!

What do you guys think about miniatures?
Have you used any sets or smaller versions of a product before with good results?

 

Leave a Reply

