Spotlight on: April Morris

Today’s spotlight is on the gorgeous April Morris.

I was so excited when April agreed to answer some questions, her list of recent experiences alone is enough to make any beauty obsessed girl swoon. ( Get ready to be jealous!)

She probably won’t remember, but she has even given me a mini make-over at Priceline before, and I recall being super chuffed with how I looked afterwards and instantly started taking bulk snapchat selfies in the carpark.

I think that’s a pretty glowing indicator of her skills!

A cup of tea with April Morris.
Current Profession:
I’m a fully qualified diploma level makeup artist, who started off freelancing with my own business at 18 years old with my main focus being bridal party’s and weddings.
I’m currently working as a Beauty Advisor and supervisor for Priceline.
I’m also one of the beauty advisors that make up the national events team and I also work closely with the marketing team and head office on campaigns, catalogue shoots and lots of advertising work.
I have had some amazing opportunities in the 3 years I have been with the company.
Some highlights so far would be working at VAMFF fashion week and assisting Rae Morris backstage, starring as the “face” for Priceline Pharmacy and Priceline beauty advisors in catalogue shoots and also filming beauty school video tutorials that are displayed nationally across all stores multimedia advertising screens.
I have even written a full page article in Girlfriend magazine! It was so surreal as I adored the mag as a teen.
I have also been lucky enough to feature in many adverts and write beauty articles in magazines such as Women’s Weekly, Cosmopolitan, That’s Life, Shop, InStyle, and Marie Claire, just to name a few.
I have now started my own YouTube channel and beauty based Instagram blog last August and have just reached over 12,000 followers combined.
How would you describe your skin?
It’s usually pretty normal but I have some pigmentation on my cheeks and get the odd hormonal breakout.
What is your current everyday skin routine?
Cleanse: I currently use Ponds Flawless White Foaming Facial Cleanser651059_xlarge.jpg
It’s my ride or die for cleansers as it helps with my pigmentation and doesn’t feel tight on my face when I get out of the shower.
Exfoliate: My exfoliator is by Sukin380790_xlarge.jpg
Moisturise: For day time, the Rodial Dragon’s Blood Formula with SPF900001_xlarge.jpg
and for night I use the Skin Physics Dragon’s Blood night cream2801_xlarge.jpg
Dragon’s blood plumps the skin like nothing else I’ve ever tried.
What is your favourite beauty product of the moment?
Definitely brow gel! I can’t get enough of the L’oreal Brow Artist Plumper889210_xlarge_1.jpg
I feel if my brows are on fleek, I can leave the house in nothing else.
I also love metallic eyeshadows for an easy pop to enhance any look. I can’t live without ColourPop cosmetics Super Shock eye shadowsGirly_grande-300x300.jpg
The pigment is like no other!
How often do you wash your hair ? What do you use?
No more than twice a week, I live for Batiste Dry Shampoo394629_xlarge_1.jpg
to refresh in between washes.
My favourite shampoo and conditioner of the moment are by Brite Organix
The purple range are the best blonde hair toners I have ever used.
What is your usual makeup/hair look? How do you achieve it?
I usually go quite natural for the day time at work.
90% of the time I use neutral tones on the eyes, bronzy tones are my absolute favourite.
I keep my skin fresh with a medium coverage foundation, a nice bronzed glow on the cheeks, a defined brow and some mascara to coat my lashes.
My all time favourite lip balm for everyday is Lanolips lip balm in Peach947547_xlarge.jpg
It’s the best!
For my hair, it is usually straight or up in a bun.
For night time I like to smoke up my eyes, pop on some lashes and I always wear a bold lip, red is my go to colour!
I also curl and volumize my hair.
Looking back what hairstyle, makeup or fashion look did you used to wear, that makes you cringe now?
I think the worst thing I ever wore were when I went with my friends out to the discos in year 7 & 8.
Picture knee high rainbow “toe” socks with denim mini skirts, frizzy hair and a flat face of foundation.
No blush.
No bronzer.
Just a plain old face of foundation.
Haha what was I thinking!?
What is your number one tip relating to makeup, hair or fashion that you wish everyone knew?
Less is more.
You can always add, but once you have gone overboard it’s really hard to fix and take away.
Take your time and blend everything nicely.
Slowly build up colour and you can never go wrong!
I think quality brushes are the most important investment you can make as they literally do all of the hard work for you.
What is on your beauty related wishlist right now? What is something you’ve always wanted to try?
I really want to get my hands on the Anastasia Beverly Hills Glow Kits0db5e890-8feb-0133-b2e4-0e438b3b98d1.jpg
Those highlighting palettes look heavenly.
I’m also intrigued by the new Artis Makeup Brushes3085-mw.jpg
They look like giant toothbrushes!
What is the best part of your job?
Helping women and men feel confident in their appearance.
There is no better feeling when someone says how confident and beautiful you have made them feel inside and out.
I also really enjoy all of the opportunities I have had in advertising and marketing through Priceline.
It has seriously helped me a lot with my own self confidence and has taught me that I can do anything if I work hard for it.
You can find April online:
insta@aprilmorrismua
And check out her YouTube channel here:
Leave a Reply

