Spotlight on: Carla Poletti

Recommendations.

Routines.

Tips.

These are the things that make my world go ’round.
I’m forever wanting to be given some sneaky tid bit of beauty info, a tip off on an awesome product, a ” Look at the proof” story, so that I too can adopt it.
And when someone eventually asks me ” How did you find out about this?” I can smugly say “Oh! This? I’ve been doing it agesssss.”

In the coming weeks I’m going to be posting beauty Q & A’s from women from various walks of life.

My curiosity border’s on creep-town sometimes, but I figured surely I’m not alone?

Today’s Q & A is with my fabulous local hairdresser Carla Poletti.
Carla is warm, bubbly and easy to chat to. People are constantly comparing her to Adele, so you can visualise how effortlessly gorgeous she is.
She is always honest when doing hair, and I trust her implicitly with my locks.
Even when cutting roughly 12cms off my mane at the time, I didn’t flinch, such is my level of trust!

A Mojito with Carla Poletti:

Current profession:
Hairdresser and Mum to two beautiful little boys.

I have been hairdressing for 15 years.
I started out in the industry by working in a salon for year 10 work experience.

My mum’s a hairdresser, and having grown up around it, I felt the love for working with hair from a very young age.
I was offered weekend and after school work, then an apprenticeship at the age of 15.
I never had intentions to leave school that young but it was a fantastic opportunity in a wonderful salon and I had very supportive parents.
I then went into buying my own salon at 19.

I’am blessed to say through hard work and passion, I built a successful business with wonderful clients.
After getting married and having some difficulties in starting a family, I decided it was time to put it on the market and focus on what was now my priority.
It sold in 6 weeks and not long after, I was pregnant with our first gorgeous son.

It was the first time in my career I felt like I needed a step back and have time for me.

After working 10yrs in a very demanding industry (physically and mentally), I needed to enjoy the next chapter in my life.
When my son was 6 months old, I went back into working from home in a salon my husband built me.
I now work selective hours to cater for my family and have a fabulous clientele.
I’m a very lucky lady to have been able to have a wonderful career that I love and  my family- I appreciate this very much!

How would you best describe your skin?
Normal- dry

 

What is your current everyday skin routine?
As a busy mumma, I don’t get to spend a lot of time on my skin.
My usual routine is to wash my face morning and night. In the morning, I just wash with water. At night I use AHAVA toning cleanser.AHAVA

 

It’s awesome at getting all of my makeup off as well as leaving my skin feeling nourished.
I moisturize in the evening before going to bed each night with AVAHA Time to Hydrate for combination skin.hydrate-essential-day-moisturizer-combination_4.jpg
I used to love getting a facial a couple of times a year before having the kids, but I haven’t got time or finances to do that often these days.

 

What is your favourite beauty product at the moment?
This is a tough one!
It would be between the Maybelline baby lips lip balm in Lychee,lycheebabylips
and the new Loreal color correcting conditioner.

colourcorrector.jpg

The lip balm is super cheap, makes your lips feel good and smells amazing!
The color corrector is like a purple shampoo times 10! One wash and it brightens and gets rid of any warmth.
It’s one of the best products I’ve seen in the industry in a long time!

 

How often do you wash your hair? What do you use?
I only wash my hair once a week!
I have super dry, curly hair and to be honest I could go two weeks and it still wouldn’t be oily.
I use Loreal professional Absolut Repair Lipidium shampoo and give it two good washes.absolutloreal
I then use the Loreal silver shampoo to help the color.silvershampoo

 

Then I condition with the Absolut masque conditioner.  reapirconditioner

Every now and then, when my color needs a freshen, I use the color corrector conditioner (above) to brighten me up.
I then use a smoothing cream and an anti- humidifying oil while my hair is wet, and blow dry it in.

 

What is your usual hair/makeup look? How do you achieve it?
My usual routine is:
I use L’oreal true match foundation applied with a Real Techniques stippling brush

 

I add a slight contour using the Australis contouring kitaustraliscontourI did some reading on it and it was being compared to high end makeup. I love it and comes with an awesome price tag!

I fill in my brows, add some Nars blush in Orgasmnarsblush

 

A bit of blended color on the eyes, I mainly go between Mac eye shadows in Swiss Chocolate, Carbon, Naked and Sketch-

or I use the Chi-Chi cosmetics palette in Naturals. I did some research and saw that makeup artists were loving  the Chi-Chi  brand, as the shadows have a really strong pigment and you get much bigger bang for your buck in comparison.

chichinaturals

I apply winged liner, I love, love, love the Gorgeous Cosmetics ilinegorgeous ilineThe shape of the pen makes it so much easier to achieve the winged cat eye.

I follow that with some mascara, currently I’m using a Smashbox mascara.smashboxmascara

My hair, I usually wash and straighten (usually ghd curl for a bit more bounce) once a week.

Usually in the morning I have to touch up around my face and somehow put my hair up.
I hate flat hair so I  often tease up the roots and mess it up a bit- using a bit of spray.

I don’t wear it down much as it’s really long, and gets in my way when I’m doing mummy stuff like changing bums and making peanut butter sandwiches.
I admit sometimes all I have time for with two toddlers pulling on me, is a big messy bun on the top of my head!

If I’m headed somewhere spesh, I put a bit more time and effort in.

I use a foundation suited to evening (I’ve been playing around with Estee Lauder and a Smashbox foundation), and will spend more time concealing any redness or the odd blemish.
I do a stronger contour and highlight with Benefit high beamhighbeam.jpg

I lightly fill in my brows, choose an eye look that suits the occasion or outfit, then may add some false lashes.
Again depending what I’m doing, I may add a pop of color for the lips or stick with a pinky nude.
I go between Mac Flat out fabulous, Media and Velvet teddy.

With hair, I’m tending to curl it at the moment and wear it in a voluminous pony, but I do play around with it for a special occasion.

 

Looking back, what hairstyle, makeup or fashion look did you used to wear, that makes you cringe now?
It’s hard to decide between my natural, curly, uncolored hair, cut into a bob (that I used to twist and wear a fake hibiscus flower with) or hot pink, fudge colored foils. Yikes!

 

What is your number one tip relating to makeup; hair or fashion that you wish everyone knew?
I have a few!
Fashion would be, no more than 3 colors when putting together an outfit! Also dress for your shape and size- accentuate the good and hide the bad, just because something fits, doesn’t mean it’s doing the best for your shape!
My hair tip is, don’t wash your hair everyday, this is unnecessary for anyone.
If you are finding you are greasy at day one, your shampoo is too heavy for you or your not cleaning it properly to begin with.
And remember to always give your hair two shampoos!
My beauty tip is when choosing eye shadow’s, research what color makes your eyes pop.
It makes the world of difference in bringing out your eye color.

What is on your beauty related wish list right now? What is something you’ve always wanted to try?
I have been eyeing off some makeup geek eye shadows for a while-makeupgeek.jpg

Also the Spices palette from Chi-Chi as the warm colours will bring out my green eyes-spicespallette.jpg

Becca champagne pop highlighter is on my wish list as well!beccapop.jpg

I’ve also been wanting a new ghd iron they are amazing, but mine is still going strong so I can’t justify it!

What is the best part of your job?
I have to say, I’m very lucky to have such an empowering job, I get to make women look and feel amazing!
That result when you have given someone a whole new look gives me the ultimate reward.
But really there is so much about my job I love.
I enjoy my relationships with my clients, I love the connection you make with someone and that they trust you with more than just their hair!
I also love that it’s an always changing industry, there is always something new to learn and create!

You can find Carla on Instagram under:

insta.jpg @Carlapolettihairstylist

Leave a Reply

