Products I’m using: Part 2 Everyday Face

For part 2 of my series ” things that nobody asked”, I thought I would share with you what I do for my everyday look.
My workplace doesn’t lend itself to needing to be particularly glamorous.
I’m usually alone in the office and the majority of face to face contact I have is with truck drivers and male colleagues who don’t even notice when I cut 12cm’s off my hair, so looking what most professional people would consider ” respectable” isn’t really an issue!
There have been some days when I barely brush my hair let alone put on some slap, but for the purposes of content I shall oblige.

TINTED MOISTURISER: Kiehl’s Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB cream in Light

Actively-Correcting-Beautifying-BB-Cream
I’ve been pretty faithful to this one ever since ZFB recommended it.
Not strictly a “tinted moisturiser” but the same vibe.
I like the SPF50 that it provides, and find it gives a enough coverage to make me feel like I’ve done something to even out my complexion, without feeling like I’ve got a thick layer of foundation on.

I blend it in with my fingers because A) It’s 6am and aint nobody got time for brushes and B) It’s 6am and aint nobody got time for brushes.

I DO NOT rely on this BB cream for my sun protection however, I always start with a base of this:

Invisible Zinc Face & Body sunscreen
invisible zinc

It’s thick, so you don’t need a hell of alot, and I put it on after my moisturiser has absorbed.
I know I link alot to Zoe Foster Blake’s article’s, but as I’ve said before, she’s my guru and where I get most of my information!
I also feel like it’s a touch rude of me to claim this knowledge as my own, and while it may seem like I’m being lazy, I just feel like you as a reader would benefit from reading her advice first hand.
Read why this is my sunscreen of choice here.

 

CHEEKS: Benefit Cha-Cha tint OR Revlon Balm stain in Rendezvous

 

All of the colour range for the benefit cheek tints are flattering in my opinion, but I like this hue the most.
I find it’s best to dab onto my finger, then onto my cheek, as it STAINS.
If you aren’t quick enough to blend it in, you will have a concentrated dot of colour on your cheek, which unless that’s the look you’re going for, isn’t ideal!
So for the perfect, “glowing with health” flush, exercise caution and you should be fine.

Because I’ve currently run out of Miss cha-cha, I’ve had to resort to other methods, with surprising results!
I’ve often seen in those ” Take your look from day to night” articles that they use a bit of lippy as a cheek colour.

It works!
The Revlon balm stains are ideal as they’ve got pigment and offer a bit of sheen, but are totally buildable.
Now before you conjure up images in your head of grabbing the balm stick and drawing big ol’ circles on the apples of your cheeks, let me stop you.
Draw a little circle on your fingertip, dab it onto your cheek apple and dab until it’s blended to your liking.
Check out your smug mug in the mirror and vow to always be resourceful and clever enough to find dual uses for your fave beauty buys forever, because you’re the queen of make-up’s.

EYES: Australis Multi Mega Lash in Black

australis

This mascara for everyday is a GEM.
The formula is designed so that a ” tube” forms around each individual lash.
The result is, well eye’s that have mascara on them.

BUT with a cool point of difference.
When you go to wash it off at the end of the day, you will not get panda eyes.
You do not even need makeup remover.
These iddy biddy tubes of awesome rinse off with hot water and face wash.
You can ( gently using fingertips) wiggle them loose, leaving your squeaky clean lashes underneath.
Saaaaah easy!

BROWS: A brow tint from my local salon OR Benefit Gimme Brow

gimmebrow

I’ve recently become a convert for getting brows tinted when I go to get them waxed.
I’ve had mixed results, due to the fact I’ve had different beautician’s do it each time, but the last two time’s I’ve had it done have been top notch.
Brows frame the face, and having that extra bit of definition really helps in keeping up a polished visage.
I always find it amusing when the beautician over explains themselves after a brow tint.
” Now dont worry, it will fade.”
“It looks a little dark at the moment, but that will go down”
I always expect the worst when I clutch the mirror to have a look, but I’m always greeted by exactly what I want!
I almost feel a tad disappointed that the fierceness level will fade after a day or two.

That’s where Gimme Brow comes in.
Almost like a mascara for brows, this formula brushes little fibers onto the brows, filling gaps and generally giving your brows LIFE.
Go to your local Benefit counter and have them show you the difference it makes, as well as get the right shade for your brows. You might think you need the darkest shade, but more often than not, the one shade lighter is better for you.

 

LIPS: Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Nourishing Lip Balm
Elizabeth_Arden_Eight_Hour_Nourishing_Lip_Balm_SPF20_14_8ml_1373613359.jpg

As if I’m going to wear a lip colour to work. The guys would fall off their machines.
What I do use though, is this.
Various balms have come and gone through my handbag.
At any one time, you will find at least 3 different types.

This is the one I have found to be the most reliable, and well suited to my smackers.
Not sticky, super hydrating and the same properties as the 8 hour cream of it’s namesake.
If you are not familiar with 8 hour cream on it’s own, get acquainted.
It’s this weird, orange, dense concoction that does all sorts of special things to your skin.
When I have had it in the past, I’ve used it as a moisturising mask and on my eczema.

And that’s it!
This takes me all of 15 minutes in the morning, and that includes blasting my hair with some dry shampoo and brushing my teeth.
I’d love to know other people’s routines and recommendations. Hit me up in the comments and let me know!

 

 

 

One thought on “Products I’m using: Part 2 Everyday Face

Leave a Reply

