Products I’m currently using: Part 1- Skincare

I’m always met with wonderment when I pull out my cosmetics or toiletry bag in front of friends.
I regale them with product information when they ask about certain items, preach to them about skin care regimes and generally encourage them to spend their money on the tried and tested.

In saying that, I have no effing idea about it all really.
Any knowledge I have is regurgitated information from books such as Amazing Face, ( written by my fictional bestie Zoe Foster Blake. Read about my obsession with her here.) various magazine columns and blogs.

I do often get compliments on my skin, but who can really be sure what’s contributing to that. It could be the plethora of products I use, or it could just be good genes.
After recently opening a joint bank account with my partner, my usual cosmetics and skin care spending will no longer be unaccounted for… so I fear my passion for trying anything and everything will take a hit. These are some sad times people.

Anywho, Jessincase you’re curious, here is a list of products I’m currently using everyday.

CLEANSER: Go-To Properly Clean Foaming Cleanser
properlyclean
This is my 2nd time at using this one. I had previously bought it before, but felt it wasn’t working as well as I expected, so I had a break and tried various other things.
I can honestly say now, that this is a wonderful product worth recommending.
I usually have problems with blackheads (so hot) forming on my nose, and I have noticed a visual reduction in their appearance since I started using this stuff again.
Hot tip: Have a read of the companies ethos here, it will sway you to try it even more.

TONER: Dermalogica Age Smart Hydramist 

hydramist
I received this in a sample size as part of a Dermalogica promotion on Adore Beauty.
I’m not normally religious with toner, I feel like my cleanser usually does the job for me, but I do like this one. I’m probably not the intended marketing demographic, but it smells great and helps “create a hydrating, antioxidant shield over the skin to help reduce fine dryness lines and prevent the signs of aging”.

SERUMS: Go-To Face Hero, Alpha H Liquid Gold


I use Face Hero morning and night.
I place a couple of drops onto my fingertips then massage it in. It’s full of good stuff designed to hydrate, revive, brighten and insure your face against fine lines, dark spots, dryness and inflammation.
I like how it feels on my skin, I would say my skin is relatively normal, but it can be prone to being a bit dry.
Sometimes I put too much on, and can feel it sitting on the surface of my face, but it’s never clogged my pores or made me breakout.

Liquid Gold is a bit of a wild card for me. I had started to notice a slight amount of pigmentation on my cheek, so in a panic I read reviews and recommendations and bought this.
Alpha H works like an ‘overnight facial’ to improve the appearance of the complexion. You can’t use it every night, and I only swipe it onto my skin every 3rd day ( if i remember!). Sometimes it gives a little tingle, but I found it only did that when I was using a cheap, skin stripping cleanser beforehand. I always follow a swipe of Alpha H with some Face Hero and moisturiser.

MOISTURISER: Dermalogica Active Moist
activemoist.jpg
I’m not particularly loyal to any moisturisers. This one has lasted me a long time though, so I would recommend it for value. It’s lightweight which suits my penchant for Go-To Face Hero, and absorbs without feeling slimy.

MASKS: Alpha H Balancing and Pore Refining mask, Dermalogica Charcoal Rescue masque

I’m a sucker for anything scented with lavender oil, there’s something soothing and calming about it, and it feels right going onto skin.
This mask ( as with all the Alpha H stuff, I’ve found) gives a bit of a tingle once applied, and can only be left on for 10 minutes, such is it’s power.
Once it’s washed off my face is glowing and ready for some Face Hero to finish off the perfect at home facial.
Dermalogica Charcoal Rescue is new to my arsenal, but is already cementing it’s place as a permanent addition. It goes on like a normal masque, but once it’s dry, little granules come to the surface, and with damp fingertips, you gently massage your face for a deeper exfoliating treatment. Once rinsed off it leaves the face feeling fresh, but not tight which is the best, because no-one enjoys feeling like your face is so taut it’s going to split.

Well not unless you’re a botox fanatic… ( I’m looking at you crazy lady whose face resembles a cat now).

So that’s what I’m currently doing skincare wise.
Stay tuned for Part 2, where I’ll go through what I’m using make-up wise and how to make the perfect lemon meringue pie*.

*  May or may not appear in blog post…

 

4 thoughts on “Products I’m currently using: Part 1- Skincare

Leave a Reply

